UK flag France flag Germany flag Spain flag Italy flag

Prion 2008, Madrid, Spain, 8-10 Oct 2008

Prion2008 programme

Download the Prion2008 programme.

Back to top

CJDISA Session - Working together globally to support those affected by prion disease

During the Prion2008 conference in Madrid,  the CJD International Support Alliance delivered a presentation on “Working together globally to support those affected by prion disease”.

Length: 27 min

  • Suzanne Solvyns, co-chair CJDISA, Director of the CJDSGN, Australia
  • David Ralston, Chair of the CJDSGN, Australia
  • Gillian Turner, National Coordinator of the CJDSN, UK
  • Roberto Borgis, President of the A.I.En.P, Italy
  • Raffaella Robello, Vice President of the A.I.En.P, Italy
  • Jean-Philippe Deslys, NeuroPrion coordinator
  • Jeanne Goerrian, Présidente de l'A.V.H.C.

To watch the video, please click on the video thumbnail or click here.

Prion2008 abstract book

You will find in the abstract book a summary of the oral presentations and of the posters that were showed during the Prion2008 conference.
Download the abstract book.

Back to top


On behalf of the European Network of Excellence NeuroPrion I am pleased to be able to invite you to join us in Madrid for Prion2008.
On the heels of Paris 2004, Düsseldorf 2005, Turin 2006 and Edinburgh 2007 the international conference "Prion 2008" will be held in Madrid, Spain, on October 8-10, 2008. As in precedent edition, the main purpose of the congress is to discuss the latest research in the field of Transmissible Spongiform Encephalopathies (TSE) and Prion disease. The programme of “Prion 2008” will include state-of-the-art lectures, workshops, oral presentations, poster sessions and other forms of presentation selected from contributed abstracts. The diverse meeting schedule will cover contemporary topics in Prion Disease, always with an emphasis on research data. Scientific sessions will be organised covering all the important subjects in the TSE field. This event will provide a great opportunity for scientists from all over the world to share their findings and progress in an attractive and interesting setting.
We hope that you will join this exciting meeting that promises many fruitful discussions, and look forward to seeing you in Madrid in October 2008!
Dr. Juan-Maria Torres
Congress Chairman
Congress registration and information on accommodation on the Prion2008 website :

Back to top

Organisation & Committees

Local Organising Committee

  • Dr. Alberto Rábano Gutiérrez. Fundación Hospital Alcorcón. Madrid
  • Dra. Carmen Navarro Fernández-Balbuena. Universidad Santiago de Compostela
  • Dr. Francisco Javier Álvarez Pérez. LRSA. León
  • Dr. Francisco Wandosel Jurado. CBM CSIC. Madrid
  • Dr. Isidro Ferrer Abizanda. Universidad de Barcelona
  • Dr. Jose Antonio del Río Fernández. Universidad de Barcelona
  • Dr. Jesús de Pedro Cuesta. Instituto de Salud Carlos III. Madrid
  • Dr. Jesús Rodríguez Requena. Universidad de Santiago de Compostela
  • Dr. Juan María Torres Trillo. CISA-INIA. Valdeolmos. Madrid
  • Dra. María Belén Pintado Sanjuán. INIA. Madrid
  • Dra. Marta Monzón Garcés. Universidad de Zaragoza
  • Dr. Martí Pumarola Batlle. Universidad Autónoma de Barcelona
  • Dr. Tomás Mayoral Ortega. Laboratorio Central de Veterinaria. Algete. Madrid
  • Dr. Juan José Badiola. Universidad de Zaragoza

NeuroPrion Organising Committee
  • Dr. Jean-Philippe Deslys. CEA, Fontenay-aux-roses. France
  • Dr. Jens Schell. CEA, Fontenay-aux-roses. France
  • Dr. Steve Simoneau. CEA, Fontenay-aux-roses. France

Scientific Committee:
  • Agrimi, Umberto. Istituto Superiore di Sanità. Rome. Italy
  • Aguzzi, Adrian. University Hospital Zurich. Switzerland
  • Andreoletti, Olivier. INRA. Toulouse. France
  • Baskakov, Ilya. University of Maryland Biotechnology Institute. USA
  • Brown, Paul. Bethesda. Maryland. USA
  • Budka, Herbert. Medical Univ. Vienna. Osterreich
  • Caramelli, Maria. Istituto Zooprofilattico Sperimentale. Torino. Italy
  • Castilla, Joaquin. Scripps Research Institute. Jupiter. USA
  • Caughey, Byron. National Institute of Health. Hamilton. Montana. USA
  • Collinge, John. MRC prion unit. London. UK
  • Deslys, Jean-Philippe. CEA, Fontenay-aux-roses. France
  • Ferrer, Isidre. Universidad de Barcelona. Spain
  • Forloni, Gianluigi. Istituto di Ricerche Farmacologiche "Mario Negri", Milano, Italy
  • Groschup, Martin. FLI. Greifswald-insel riems. Germany
  • Harris, David. Washington University School of Medicine. St. Louis. USA
  • Hope, Jim. Veterinary Laboratory Agency. UK
  • Korth, Carsten. Heinrich-Heine-Universitaet. Duesseldorf. Germany
  • Kretzschmar, Hans. Ludwig-Maximilians Universitaet Muenchen. Germany
  • Langeveld, Jan. CIDC. Lelystad. The Netherlands
  • Laude, Hubert. INRA. Toulouse. France
  • Lehmann, Sylvan. CNRS. Monmpellier. France
  • Manson, Jean. Roslin Institute. Edinburgh. UK
  • Pocchiari, Maurizio. Istituto Superiore di Sanità. Roma. Italy
  • Requena, Jesus. Universidad de Santiago de Compostela. Spain
  • Rogers, Mark. University College Dublin. Ireland
  • Schell, Jens. CEA. Fontenay-aux-roses. France
  • Sklaviadis, Theodoro. Aristotle University of Thessaloniki. Greece
  • Tagliavini, Fabrizio. Istituto Neurologico "Carlo Besta". Milano. Italy
  • Taraboulos, Albert. The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Israel
  • Torres, Juan Maria. CISA-INIA. Valdeolmos. Madrid. Spain
  • Weissmann, Charles. Scripps Research Institute. Jupiter. USA
  • Will, Bob. University of Edinburgh. UK
  • Wille, Holger. University of California. San Francisco. USA

Back to top